Some People May Be Allergic to Whey Protein – Here is Why
image source: Pixabay
Whey protein is a popular fitness and dietary supplement. It’s made from whey, which is the liquid that separates from milk during the cheese-making process. The whey is then filtered, refined and spray-dried into whey protein powder.
Because whey protein is derived from cow’s milk, people with a cow’s milk allergy may be allergic to it. Most people with an allergy to milk have symptoms which appear when they are infants and outgrow them as they get older. However, some people do not outgrow these symptoms and continue to be allergic as adults.
Symptoms of a cow’s milk allergy may include hives, rashes, facial swelling, throat and tongue swelling and a runny or stuffy nose. In some cases, a cow’s milk allergy may trigger anaphylaxis, a severe, life-threatening allergic reaction. Again, it’s worth remembering that a cow’s milk allergy is rare in adults, but it can have severe consequences.
Moreover, an allergy to whey protein should not be confused with lactose intolerance. Most allergies occur when the body produces an immune response to a protein. However, an intolerance is caused by an enzyme deficiency and does not involve the immune system.
If you have a cow’s milk protein allergy, try a non-dairy protein powder, such as soy, pea, egg, rice or hemp protein. If you are unsure whether your symptoms are due to an allergy or intolerance, it’s best to check with your doctor.
Those who are allergic to cow’s milk may also be allergic to whey protein. Nevertheless, cow’s milk allergies are very rare in adults.https://healthyfoodmaster.com/some-people-may-be-allergic-to-whey-protein-here-is-why/General Healthprotein,whey protein,workout